Highlights include:
– the ladies 1st team coming 2nd in the Premier League
– the ladies 2nd team being promoted back into W01
– the men’s’ cricket side winning their league
– Nicole Wainer and Caitlin Bauristhene were selected and played for the Southern Gauteng Country Districts team which went on to win gold at the tournament – congratulations to you both and GO SOUTHERNS!
– Caitlin Bauristhene then represented the SACD A side at the IPT
– Bridget Kee made the Gauteng Witsies side for IPT and they won gold in the B division
– Sammy Prost, Lisa Deetleefs, Christine Roos and Lindsay McGuire represented Southern Gauteng at IPT and they won gold in the A section of the tournament. Wins for Southerns all round!!!
– Marsha Cox was once again in the South African team as their Captain and respected, experienced leader. Pirates would like to congratulate Marsha and both the SA ladies and SA men for winning the Africa Cup of Nations and qualifying for the FIH World Cup 2014.

Fun was had by all at the Hockey end of year function where the following awards were given out:
Ladies 1st team:
– Player of the Season: Sharne Bailey
– Most Promising Player: Sammy Prost
Ladies 2nd team:
– Player of the Season: Madri Snyman
– Most Promising Player: Elsa le Roux
Ladies 3rd team:
– Player of the Season: Lindsay Britz
– Most Promising Player: Jessie Anne Bird
Ladies 4th team:
– Player of the Season: Dom de Klerk
– Most Promising Player: Carol Gunning
Men’s Skulls:
– Player of the Season: Matthew Smith
– Most Promising Player: Anthony Allen
Men’s Rats:
– Player of the Season: David Graham-Parker
– Most Promising Player: Vaughan Batchelor, Kyle Batchelor

Pirate of the Year: Rianna Louw
Captain of the Year: Wessel Botha
Merit of Outstanding Contribution: Nicci Willson & Candice Langley

Perhaps the most prestigious awards of the evening were the colours awards, reintroduced to promote tradition and a sense of pride in being called a Pirate. It rewards those true Pirates hockey members who have had outstanding contributions to the club on and off the field for a number of years:
– Silver: Caitlin Bauristhene, Matthew Smith, Roxanne Bell Smith
– Gold: Wayne Swart, Jason Smith, Alyna Wyatt

Congratulations to everyone for their awards and achievements during a special 125 birthday year at Pirates. We look forward to an even more successful season in 2014.”